0 votes
in Politics & Government by (14.1m points)

Hey I Don't Want Criticism I Just Want The Laws About Dating A Minor In Massachusetts. Also If Parental Consent Affects Anything. Thank You!

4 Answers

0 votes
by
 
Best answer

You can date if the parents let you, just don't have sex:

"Child Under Sixteen

MGL. c.265, sec. 23. [Commonly known as the Statutory Rape Law]. Rape and abuse of child.

Whoever unlawfully has sexual intercourse or unnatural sexual intercourse, and abuses a child under sixteen years of age shall, for the first offense, be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for life or for any term of years, or, except as otherwise provided, for any term in a jail or house of correction, and for the second or subsequent offense by imprisonment in the state prison for life or for any term of years, but not less than five years; provided, however, that a prosecution commenced under the provisions of this section shall not be placed on file or continued without a finding.

MGL c.265, sec. 23A added by St.2008, c.205 provides a 10-year minimum sentence for statutory rape in the following instances:

The child is under 12 and the defendant is more than 5 years older

The child is between 12 and 16 and the defendant is more than 10 years older

The defendant is a mandatory reporter under MGL c.119, s.21

MGL c.272, sec. 35A. Unnatural and lascivious acts with child under 16.

Whoever commits any unnatural and lascivious act with a child under the age of sixteen shall be punished by a fine of not less than one hundred dollars nor more than one thousand dollars or by imprisonment in the state prison for not more than five years or in jail or the house of correction for not more than two and one half years, and whoever over the age of eighteen commits a second or subsequent such offence shall be sentenced to imprisonment in the state prison for a term of not less than five years.

Commonwealth v. Miller, 385 Mass. 521, 432 NE2d 463 (1982). The offense of statutory rape, G. L. c. 265, ยง 23, may be committed with or without any knowledge on the defendant's part of the age of the victim.

Commonwealth v. Elder, 389 Mass. 743, 452 NE2d 1104 (1983). "Consent is not a defense to a charge of statutory rape."

Commonwealth v. Knap, 412 Mass. 712, 592 NE2d 747 (1992). "The only elements the Commonwealth must prove are (1) sexual or unnatural sexual intercourse with (2) a child under sixteen years of age"

Questions and Answers on "Statutory Rape," Belmont Police Department.

Statutory Rape, Massachusetts Family Institute."

0 votes
by

It's not that hard to find someone your own age.

0 votes
by (14.1m points)

Screw her, you dont need to worry, they wont convict you.

0 votes
by (140 points)

So....did you have a question?

Welcome to zPertanyaan Q&A, where you can ask questions and receive answers from other members of the community.
...